Reappropriating t-bar school shoes

What is a secret hipster to do with her almost new pair of t-bar school shoes following graduation. Start wearing them again!

Secret Hipster - DIY Crown, DIY gingham top, Dangerfield dress worn as skirt, Harrison t-bar strap shoes, silver cross from my best friend, pink prison rosary from eBay, vintage Polly Pocket bracelet

DIY Crown, DIY gingham top, Dangerfield dress worn as skirt, Harrison t-bar strap shoes, silver cross from my best friend, pink prison rosary from eBay, vintage Polly Pocket bracelet

These are the shoes I had to wear as part of my school uniform and my mother insisted on getting a new pair for my final year. At the time it made no sense to me since my old pair would fall apart in the middle of the year when no one cared anymore but no.

I had to live my life obeying the rules. I’m tempted to begin wearing them again since there’s a lot of life left in the leather but I still need to figure out how to avoid looking like a high school student through style.

I’m thinking of drawing some smiley faces on them with fabric paint or painting them in coat after coat of glitter which is a little difficult given the perforated holes. I’ll think of something though- don’t you worry about me.

Secret Hipster - DIY crown, Romance Was Born dress, vintage pink collar from etsy (SinkVintage), cardigan from my mother, childhood socks and my old school shoes (Harrison Idaho T-Bar)

DIY crown, Romance Was Born dress, vintage pink collar from etsy (SinkVintage), cardigan from my mother, childhood socks and my old school shoes (Harrison Idaho T-Bar)

I realise I’m a bit late to jump on the bandwagon of Easter-themed outfits but I have only myself to blame because I’ve been planning this one for ages and only lacked the motivation to execute my idea in full.

Secret Hipster - ASOS faux fur coat, second hand t-shirt, Meadham Kirchhoff X Topshop skirt, POMS earrings and Harrison T-bars

ASOS faux fur coat, second hand t-shirt, Meadham Kirchhoff X Topshop skirt, POMS earrings and Harrison T-bars

This outfit is really my way of channeling me inner space queen meets Hollywood actress vibes. For once I was able to create a unique outfit the day before I wore it. Usually I’m torn between what skirt or shoes to wear but for once it all kind of made sense in my head.

Secret Hipster - Dangerfield soupy dress and socks, American Apparel shirt, thrifted crochet jacket, POMS earrings and necklace, dog brooch from ginettepomette (etsy), buttons from Melbourne Art Fair and Harrison T-bars

Dangerfield soupy dress and socks, American Apparel shirt, thrifted crochet jacket, POMS earrings and necklace, dog brooch from ginettepomette (etsy), buttons from Melbourne Art Fair and Harrison T-bars

Leave a Reply

